Bleecker Burger vs Honest Burgers

In this battle of the burgers, some people may think this unfair as Bleecker Burger is a food truck, whereas Honest Burgers is a fast growing chain with 8 locations across London. However, as long as it’s a patty and a bun it can be compared.

I’ll start with my review of Bleecker Burger. Situated in Old Spitalfields Market, the smell of those sizzling burgers draws you closer, so I couldn’t wait to try this burger.

Bleecker Burger

Menu

I’d also heard great things and if their Instagram is anything to go by, this burger should have been epic. I decided to have the Bacon Cheeseburger and Sweet Potato Fries.

Bleecker 2

I’m not sure if they were trying to go for the home barbecue style burger with fries or should I say ‘chips’, but this burger was just like a burger I’d make at home on my barbecue. The taste was indeed good, but I felt it didn’t have the juiciness I was looking for in a burger. Also the portion was incredibly small, not sure what size they advertise their patties are but if I did go back there again, I’ll definitely go for a double as the single was too small.

Burger Fries

Bleecker 1

The sweet potato ‘chips’ were also quite salty and tasted like sweet potato they had just sliced up and fried, much like something I’ll make at home if I was trying to experiment making sweet potato fries. And to put the icing on the cake, a burger and fries came up to £11.00 and unfortunately I was still so hungry, I felt like I had just had a quick snack.

In Bleecker Burger’s defence, and also because I don’t like to slay any food that I try completely, the other diners food looked nicer. However, what I noticed about the two gentlemen who visited Bleecker Burger that were seated beside me was, one had two double cheeseburgers and the other had cheesy fries and a double cheeseburger, so clearly the portions aren’t enough for the customers.

 Honest Burgers

Honest Burger: No bias here but this has to be one of the best burgers I’ve had in a long time. Here I went for the Tribute Burger along with the Rosemary Salted Chips that all the burgers at Honest Burgers comes with. I also substituted my cheese in this burger to mature cheddar instead of American cheese, as I’m not a big fan of the latter. A bit worried, considering my recent experience at Bleecker Burger, I considered ordering a double but the waiter assured me a single patty should be fine, and I was glad he did because this was very filling, and all for £10. The Tribute Burger was well cooked, with lashings of mustard, cheese perfectly melted and best of all this burger wasn’t messy in the slightest and it still retained the juiciness a burger should have.

Honest 2

The Rosemary Salted Chips, were well done, not refried, and salted to perfection. I was full but still continued eating my chips, because they were so good. At some point in my meal, I was eating and I stopped, and it was funny I thought to myself ‘This burger is so good, I don’t want it to end’.

Honest

The atmosphere in Honest Burgers was also quite nice and warm, and I got a vibe like it had a fusion of British and American culture. Also they have gluten free options, and surprisingly gluten free beer. The customer service was in a class all by itself. I was intrigued by one of their cocktails they served with an aperitif Kamm & Sons, that I never seen or heard of. One of the waiters gave me a shot of this to try and told me more about this drink with citrus notes and a honey palate, tasted a bit like a bittersweet gin. I was really impressed by this level of customer service.

Clearly in this battle, Honest Burgers won. Not only in the taste and portion of their Tribute Burger and value for money, but also due to their exceptional customer service. I would recommend visiting your nearest Honest Burgers if you haven’t yet, and if you have they have a special burger right now, which is a spicy Mexican fusion burger, with jalapeños, adobo and monterey jack quesadilla. Also they’re introducing a special warm cocktail for the season, made with Kamm & Sons as well and ginger beer. So you could definitely try something new.

Bleecker Burger 

Overall Experience – 3 stars

Customer Service – 3 stars

Meal – 3 stars

Honest Burgers

Overall Experience – 4.5 stars

Customer Service – 5 stars

Meal – 4.5 stars

Leave a comment